Becoming an Effective Researcher (for doctoral researchers)

Posted on

Becoming an Effective Researcher: a one-day comprehensive workshop for doctoral researchers

This one-day Doictoral School workshop aims to enhance your effectiveness as a postgraduate researcher by providing you with an opportunity to build your understanding, skills and confidence in:

  • Communication
  • Planning and time management
  • Problem solving
  • Leadership
  • Assertiveness

The workshop will help you to develop a greater awareness of your own learning and working styles, and will cover keys skills of a researcher, project management, working effectively with others, managing professional relationships, including your relationship with your supervisor.

This workshop is aimed at doctoral researchers who are 6 to 18 months into their programme, and includes lunch and refereshments.

Tuesday 25th January, 09:00 – 16:30

To book your place, email TLDU-Researcher@sussex.ac.uk

By the end of the workshop you should have

  • Understood the key skills of an effective researcher
  • Increased your confidence and ability to manage your research
  • Learnt how to develop sound working relationships
  • Increased your awareness of your own learning and working styles

Feedback from previous participants:

“This course helped me to see what I could be doing in order to make progress for my PhD. It also helped me identify what my relationship with my supervisor should be like”

“Received good advice on how to plan and be more effective; working with others was really helpful-to my surprise!”

“Friendly atmosphere; interactive activities- fun and informative. Very interesting and well informed presenters”

“An inspiring and thought provoking day: against my expectations I learn new skills and have thought about my work in a new way which is useful to me”

 

Becoming an Effective Researcher

This one-day workshop aims to enhance your effectiveness as a postgraduate researcher by providing you with an opportunity to build your understanding, skills and confidence in:

* Communication

* Planning and time management

* Problem solving

* Leadership

* Assertiveness

The workshop will help you to develop a greater awareness of your own learning and working styles, and will cover keys skills of a researcher, project management, working effectively with others, managing professional relationships, including your relationship with your supervisor.

Target Audience: This workshop is aimed at doctoral researchers who are 6 to 18 months into their programme.

Format: Full-day workshop including lunch and refreshments.

Provider (& contact for workshop enquiries) : Teaching & Learning Development Unit, TLDU-Researcher@sussex.ac.uk

Learning Outcomes: By the end of the workshop you should have

* Understood the key skills of an effective researcher

* Increased your confidence and ability to manage your research

* Learnt how to develop sound working relationships

* Increased your awareness of your own learning and working styles

Feedback from previous participants:

“This course helped me to see what I could be doing in order to make progress for my PhD. It also helped me identify what my relationship with my supervisor should be like”

“Received good advice on how to plan and be more effective; working with others was really helpful-to my surprise!”

“Friendly atmosphere; interactive activities- fun and informative. Very interesting and well informed presenters”

“An inspiring and thought provoking day: against my expectations I learn new skills and have thought about my work in a new way which is useful to me”

Leave a Reply

